Vintage Farm Animal Nursery

Cason's Nursery  (2)Decorating a stylish Nursery that can grow with your bambino is a challenge, especially if you are not looking for the commercial blue stripes with elephants, pretty pink princess or even the gender neutral jungle zoo animal theme.

Challenge #1- Which room to convert into a Nursery?…finally decided to use the guest room with a LARGE CLOSET for my stylin’ tot.  Took some major arm twisting on the hubby from me.

Challenge #2- Theme?- Once we found out the gender {boy}, I wanted a nursery that would blend in with the rest of our farmhouse style. My design style is the “Vintage Farm Animal Nursery”.

Challenge #3- What furniture do you really need in a nursery? The musts include: a crib, a dresser (with a changing table topper), and a rocking chair.

This nursery décor was possible with the several shopping experiences from Restoration Hardware Baby (bedding linens & stuffed cows), Home Goods (frames and wall art), Etsy (farm animal artwork & burlap ottomans), Antique Farmhouse (dresser), Craigslist (rocking chair), Target (art supplies inside cubby box) and my all-time favorite local flea markets and antique shops/fairs.

Cason's Nursery  (9)

Looking closely into the mirror you will notice some pretty black cows in the pasture right outside the nursery window. They serenade the babe to sleep at night with hungry attention seeking bawls.cason nursery 1

My best girlfriends threw me a fabulous baby shower, in which the theme was to bring your favorite book, instead of a card, with a special heartfelt message to Cason inside. All of these books now rest on the gorgeous barn wood bookcase, made especially for this nursery by my girlfriend’s daddy. Super Sweet Gift!

cason nursery 2

These photos were taken right after the arrival of Mr. Cason…now a year later this room is covered in massive amounts of loud noise making toys (which this crazy mama insists on putting them away every night before bed…only to be taken back out of the closet the very next day).

31 thoughts on “Vintage Farm Animal Nursery

  1. This is AWESOME! I have been trying to explain to everyone that I wanted a “vintage farm animal” nursery theme. This is EXACTLY what I had in mind! Thank you. Now people can see what I mean when I say “no cutesy barn animal stuff”.

  2. Hi, What a gorgous nursery! I am wondering where your favorite flea markets are in the area? I am always trying to find a good one around the Willamette Valley and SW Washington. Thanks!

  3. this theme is so incredibly refreshing from the aforementioned mainstream nurseries…i think you and me would get along on what is tasteful 🙂 lol

  4. Hi! I came across this on Pinterest and love it (and we are naming our baby boy Cason as well!!) Was wondering if you remembered what paint color you used? I love it

    • Holly,
      So excited for your little Cason, We are in love with the name Cason. The wall color in the nursery is a Miller Paint Color…however, I am not sure the exact paint name or number. This was our former guest room and I did not alter the paint color when we converted it into a nursery. If I had to guess I would tell you it most resembles Miller Paint ColorEvolution Grays- Crystal Ball. http://thecolorevolution.com/our-colors/grays.html

      I Hope this helps,
      Lindsey

  5. Hi! I found this on pinterest and absolutely love!! My husband and I are looking to use this theme for our nursery as well! It is so adorable and practical! I especially love the wooden pig sign with the black pig with Cason’s name on it! Would you mind sharing where you found that? I have been looking online with no luck. Thanks so much and awesome nursery! 🙂

    Lindsay

    • Lindsay, you will enjoy this theme so much for you little babe. I found the pig sign at our local Home Goods a few years ago. The black pig portion is actually chalkboard and I used liquid chalk pens for his name. The brand is “Galt International”. I hope this helps and enjoy your vintage farm animal nursery.
      ~Lindsey

  6. I stumbled across this post on Pinterest. Your nursery is beautiful! I’m in the process of gathering ideas for our baby girl’s room and I’m in love with your changing area. Do you by chance remember where you got the baskets that are hanging on the wall? I’m looking for something similar.

    • Traci,

      Thank you for the sweet words! The baskets are ‘creative co-op’ brand and I believe I found them at home goods or a local shop that carries creative co-op items.
      Hope this helps and good luck,

      Lindsey

  7. Do you know what company makes that dresser? I wasn’t able to get it in time with antique farmhouse! Thanks in advance love the nursery!!

    • Samantha,

      Unfortunately, there is not a brand/company name on the dresser anywhere. The only place I have ever been able to find this dresser is through Antique Farmhouse, have you contacted them direct. They may be able to assist you. We love our dresser and my kiddo is 3 now and still loves it! Good Luck!

      xoxo, Lindsey

      • Hi Lindsey, do you know if this laundry basket is still available? I’m having trouble finding it online. I would love to use it in my nursery as well.

      • Jill, this laundry basket is from Pottery Barn; French wire hamper. I do not see it online, but they have the inside liners for it available. Maybe contact your local store for availability. Good Luck and it works perfect in a nursery, the wheels are so helpful!

Leave a Reply

