Gearin’ up for Thanksgiving

With Christmas right around the corner, I thought it was necessary to get in a few last Fall décor projects, before Thanksgiving.

DIY Monogrammed Pumpkin

I love anything monogrammed…and these monogrammed pumpkins are one of the easy-to-create DIY projects and can be completed with ordinary items around the house in less than 15 minutes.

You will need the following:

~Pumpkin (choose one that has a flat side)

~Sharpie Marker (thin tip marker for tracing and a thick tip marker for coloring in the initial)

~Painter’s Tape

~Initial Stencil or Computer Paper “Monogram” Print Out

thanks 1

When working with the Sharpie, be careful to trace/color in the pumpkin from Left to Right, if you are a Right handed person or vice versa if left handed. Otherwise, you may get marker all over the side of your hand and smear the pumpkin….not that I’m speaking from experience or anything. 🙂

thanks 2

Secondly, I wanted to add our family “established date” to the bottom of the pumpkin for extra character and personalization. The hubby and I celebrated our 5 year anniversary this year. OH MY WORD time flies when you are having fun!thanks 3

Here is the finished product on a shabby chic vintage chair by my back door for everyone to enjoy as they enter or exit our home.  I even had some time left over to plant few seasonal mums in my galvanized bucket planters.thanks 4

Another small and easy way to decorate inside the farmhouse is with these mini pumpkins…I threw a few into my antique dough bowl and around the candy dish tray.

Hope everyone enjoys their “Turkey Day” and instead of shopping during Black Friday…my hubby (who is obsessed with Christmas) will spend the day feeding my leftover pumpkins to the cows and pulling down all the Christmas lights from the attic. Our country farmhouse turns into the crazy Chevy Chase house from the Christmas Vacation movie.  Stay tuned for more holiday fun!

Leave a Reply

